Login  
 
 
Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > The Writing on the Wall > Fiction

Books about magic school



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 1st, 2012, 3:33 pm
denodik  Undisclosed.gif denodik is offline
First Year
 
Joined: 2387 days
Posts: 1
Books about magic school

I like idea about school of witchcraft and wizardry. Do you know any other books with such school?


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old April 2nd, 2012, 9:52 pm
AldeberanBlack  Male.gif AldeberanBlack is offline
Secret Chocolate Keeper
 
Joined: 3329 days
Location: London
Posts: 6,090
Re: Books about magic school

The Worst Witch


__________________
The Noble and Most Ancient House of Black
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 3rd, 2012, 3:30 am
Wab's Avatar
Wab  Undisclosed.gif Wab is offline
The Next Great Adventurer
 
Joined: 5460 days
Location: Mornington Crescent
Posts: 15,280
Re: Books about magic school

Discworld has the Unseen University for older students of the arts.


__________________
A patriot is someone who wants the best for his country, including the best laws and the best ideals. It's something other people should call you -- you shouldn't call yourself that. People who call themselves patriots are usually liars. -- Donald Woods

You got what anybody gets . . . You got a lifetime. -- Death of the Endless
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 9th, 2012, 9:13 am
Mad_Druid's Avatar
Mad_Druid  Female.gif Mad_Druid is offline
Too MAGENTA for a UT
 
Joined: 4971 days
Location: Oz
Posts: 2,422
Re: Books about magic school

Groosham Grange by Anthony Horowitz.


__________________
In the slip of a bolt, there's a tiny revolt
the seeds of a war in the creak of a floorboard
a storm can begin, with the flap of a wing
the tiniest mite packs the mightiest sting.

avatar by the Moriath!bear
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 17th, 2012, 6:20 am
NeonGenesis  Undisclosed.gif NeonGenesis is offline
First Year
 
Joined: 2393 days
Posts: 12
Re: Books about magic school

Ursual K Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea features a school for wizards in it and Ged's rival in the book is a prototype for Draco Malfoy.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 11th, 2012, 10:27 am
Exodus2000  Undisclosed.gif Exodus2000 is offline
First Year
 
Joined: 2363 days
Posts: 8
Re: Books about magic school

Users of the Mind is not about wizards, but there is a school in that story that is teaching the Arts of the Mind, a "real life wizardy" so to speak, based on laws of nature (mostly biology and evolution) that affect human behavior. Pretty interesting, especially when those things can be learned in "our world", without the need to be a true magician That story can be read also online, just google Users of the Mind.


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 9th, 2014, 4:24 pm
UselessCharmMaster  Undisclosed.gif UselessCharmMaster is offline
Sixth Year
 
Joined: 5516 days
Location: Glass jar on Snape's desk
Posts: 1,148
Re: Books about magic school

Akademia Pana Kleksa (Mister Inkblot's Academy), by Polish wirter Jan Brzechwa (original name Jan Wiktor Lesman).

I don't think it was translated into English, but I believe the movie adaptation (1984) was available in Europe.


__________________
Severus Snape: More Enigma Than Riddle

There is nothing wrong in being ambitious.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 14th, 2014, 12:59 am
HMN's Avatar
HMN  Female.gif HMN is offline
Assistant to Minister Longbottom
 
Joined: 4835 days
Location: in denial
Posts: 2,163
Re: Books about magic school

Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell
(young adult - more for older teens)
Well, it's not about magic school, but it's about a girl in college who writes fan fiction based on her favorite book series that is based on a magic school.

The Magicians: A Novel, and The Magician King by Lev Grossman
(adult fiction - definitely not for kids)
Like everyone else, precocious high school senior Quentin Coldwater assumes that magic isn't real, until he finds himself admitted to a very secretive and exclusive college of magic in upstate New York. There he indulges in joys of college-friendship, love, sex, and booze- and receives a rigorous education in modern sorcery.

A Great and Terrible Beauty (The Gemma Doyle Trilogy) by Libba Bray
(young adult)
It’s 1895, and after the suicide of her mother, 16-year-old Gemma Doyle is shipped off from the life she knows in India to Spence, a proper boarding school in England. What will her entanglement with Spence’s most powerful girls—and their foray into the spiritual world—lead to?
-- More spiritual magic happening than being taught magic

Gallagher Girls (series) by Ally Carter
(young adult)
Ok, again not magic, but it's a boarding school for spies. Similar action, sneaking around, friendship issues.


__________________
is totally awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 16th, 2014, 8:24 pm
LuceMalfoy91  Female.gif LuceMalfoy91 is offline
First Year
 
Joined: 2796 days
Location: UK
Age: 27
Posts: 88
Re: Books about magic school

You should definitely check out the Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins. The first book is Hex Hall and follows a girl who is a witch and goes to a boarding school place that fairies, warlocks and even vampires attend. I highly recommend it.


__________________
"Oh … well …" she shrugged. "I think they think I'm a bit odd, you know. Some people call me 'Loony' Lovegood, actually." - Luna Lovegood

The greatest thing you'll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return - Moulin Rouge!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 1st, 2014, 12:36 am
HMN's Avatar
HMN  Female.gif HMN is offline
Assistant to Minister Longbottom
 
Joined: 4835 days
Location: in denial
Posts: 2,163
Re: Books about magic school

Not necessarily about magic school, but I just came across this list of Harry Potter read-alikes:
http://www.hbook.com/2014/07/blogs/o...read-alikes/#_ May have to check some of those out...
  • So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane
  • The Merlin Conspiracy by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Sabriel by Garth Nix
  • The Magic Thief written by Sarah Prineas
  • The Cabinet of Wonders by Marie Rutkoski
  • The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens
  • Charmed Life, The Magicians of Caprona, Witch Week, The Lives of Christopher Chant, Mixed Magics: Four Tales of Chrestomanci, Conrad’s Fate, and The Pinhoe Egg by Diana Wynne Jones


__________________
is totally awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old August 1st, 2014, 1:13 am
Midnightsfire  Undisclosed.gif Midnightsfire is offline
Member of the Order
 
Joined: 5915 days
Posts: 9,415
Re: Books about magic school

Quote:
Originally Posted by HMN View Post
The Magicians: A Novel, and The Magician King by Lev Grossman
(adult fiction - definitely not for kids)
And not fun to read either.


__________________
All fighters are pig-headed some way or another: some part of them always thinks they know better than you about something. Truth is: even if they're wrong, even if that one thing is going to be the ruin of them, if you can beat that last bad out of them... they ain't fighters at all.

---Eddie Scrap-Iron Dupris (Million Dollar Baby)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 1st, 2014, 4:37 am
MrSleepyHead's Avatar
MrSleepyHead  Male.gif MrSleepyHead is offline
Snidget of Champions
 
Joined: 4858 days
Location: Hoggy Warty Hogwarts
Posts: 3,148
Re: Books about magic school

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnightsfire View Post
And not fun to read either.
And one I just finished reading. I agree, though I still want to know more. I think it's largely because however interesting some concepts and characters, Grossman does a poor job of developing those characters, setting, or story. Add to it the depression that is pervasive throughout the book, and it is a bit tough to wade through - yet there are parts that make the read worthwhile and somewhat rewarding.


__________________


A Place to Gather Post-Closing: Please check out the unofficial CoS Students LiveJournal page to keep in touch with CoS members after the forums close: http://cos-students.livejournal.com
WalnutFirebolt138
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old August 1st, 2014, 1:52 pm
Midnightsfire  Undisclosed.gif Midnightsfire is offline
Member of the Order
 
Joined: 5915 days
Posts: 9,415
Re: Books about magic school

Yeah, but there was an entire element missing as well; the sense of wonder.
Still I admit I only read about half of the book before tossing it to the side.
My earlier review, spoliered in case of too much detail:
Spoiler: show

I started reading the Magicians by Lev Grossman, and I dumped it about halfway through. The book billed as some sort of adult Hogwarts theme is contrived, dull, full of filler, boring, and depressing. One key note in writing fiction of this kind (yes, I'm arrogant enough to presume here) is to create some sort of sympathy with either the protaganists or the events happening. Our alleged "hero" really isn't. He's some sort of self-absorbed/self-involved jerk who whines incessantly about how dull the world is, then when he realizes he's been accepted in a school of magic, (Brakebills) whines incessantly at how dull the school is.

The author tries to invest the reader into the characters but plods on and on about how miserable they are...and you realize you really don't care. The characters themselves are just as unlikable as they behave pretentiously, drinking and drug-using and whining about the fallout from their behaviour.

And as for the supposed school of magic, there was rather little magic than the Hogwarts theme suggests. (And that's not going into how much that was ripped from the Chronicles of Narnia). There are none of the moments filled with wonder that there are in JK Rowlings books.


__________________
All fighters are pig-headed some way or another: some part of them always thinks they know better than you about something. Truth is: even if they're wrong, even if that one thing is going to be the ruin of them, if you can beat that last bad out of them... they ain't fighters at all.

---Eddie Scrap-Iron Dupris (Million Dollar Baby)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old February 28th, 2015, 6:35 pm
magic1013  Female.gif magic1013 is offline
Third Year
 
Joined: 5481 days
Location: exercising my Golden Snitch
Posts: 454
Re: Books about magic school

Vampire Academy ~By Richelle Mead

The series is about vampires (three species - based on real folklore species of vampires), but these vampires have magical powers (control fire, water, earth, air and or spirit) which make the story unique and interesting. It's written well too, which is a bonus. Highly recommend this series, there is also a spin-off series to some of the characters in VA = lovely too.

I don't recommend the movie - hollywood trying to make a buck (made author sign a contract making her believe she couldn't have say so in what they made which is bogus - she posted this on her blog).. this type of deal ruins the greatness of the books, IMHO.


Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back  Chamber of Secrets > The Writing on the Wall > Fiction

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:57 pm.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Original content is Copyright © MMII - MMVIII, CoSForums.com. All Rights Reserved.
Other content (posts, images, etc) is Copyright © its respective owners.