Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Forum Archives > Non Harry Potter Archives

Should spanking be made illegal? V.2

Old November 29th, 2007, 2:11 pm
Purveyor of Prophesy

Should spanking be made illegal? V.2

Should spanking be made illegal?

I know that the last thread post started "spinning in circles" and was closed, but much great discussion came from it, and it was clearly a divided issue. However, it seems The State of Massachusetts is poised to be the first U.S. state to ban the practice even within the confines of the home. This could set the stage for a nationwide reform, perhaps with dire consequences.

New Zealand had a clause in its legislation that provided for "reasonable force" in maintaining discipline of one's child, but that was recently repealed, and now a full ban on spanking exists.

Wiki Spanking Link

When faced with a choice between two evils, I always choose the one I have never tried before.
Sponsored Links
Old November 29th, 2007, 9:18 pm
Sixth Year

Re: Should spanking be made illegal? V.2

Well, I don't think it should be banned, because I think spanking is nessesary in some cases. I don't mean it in the way where you spank the kid for every bad thing they do, but if it is something that was incredibly dangerous or stupid or completely, completely disrespectful, then that should be in the parents hands...

- I John 4:18

PROUD MEMBER OF OFINOA (Obsessed Fans In Need Of Avatar)
Enter the world of my fanfictions! Deviantart
Old November 29th, 2007, 9:26 pm
The Godfather

The devil is in the details, I suppose. How does one enforce such a ban? In most cases, it would seem, the only way to find out if a child is spanked is to rely on the child's testimony. In essence, you are empowering children with a direct threat over their parents.